Pause For a Second…

Have you ever paused for a second and ask yourself, “what is the true purpose of life on this earth? and where can I find it?” I have. And I want to share with you all who are interested in reading this long post I wrote. 🙂
 
Nothing changes your perspective of life in a dramatic way than losing someone through death. We all know that there is a time of everything (Ecclesiastes 3:1-8). There is this beautiful joyful life and then this, this sad sorrowful death (Ecclesiastes 3:2).
 
Death was not something that was familiar to me personally. Yes, I have experienced someone who was so dearly to me died when I was a young age, but honestly I do not recall the emotion that I felt at that time. Death was just something that happened in life to me.
 
And then March 2015 happened, I turned from a little girl who thought that “oh hey, it happens. It’s life” to a woman who wonders what is life?, what is the true purpose of life on this earth? where can I find this purpose? Is it in myself? is it in something that I do or have to do? Is it my jobs? Is it happiness? where is it? so this time Death affected me, emotionally, physically and mentally. It has changed my views on life dramatically.
 
Long story short, my fiance registered us for College and Career retreat at Camp Barakel. I was like, “oh cool. I have never been there before. It’s nice to go to a new place and experience new things together.” Few days before the retreat I came across a blog of a single mom who travels to 13 countries with her 7 y.o daughter for a year after someone closed to them died to see and teach her daughter the meaning and purpose of life. I had a moment with God. This is a question that I have been wondering ever since that moment and I still had no idea what the answer is, and I prayed.
 
That evening I had a conversation with Ethan Smith. I was wondering what the message was going to be at the retreat. We threw our guess around and then prayed together asking God to speak to us through the speaker at retreat.
 
Well, what do you know!!! The first chapel service, the pastor introduced himself and a message that he will cover in the next few days. Anyone wanna take a guess what the message is about??
 
It was about life, the true purpose of life under the sun.
All the questions that were roaming around my mind were answered during that retreat.
 
” All things are full of weariness; a man cannot utter it; the eye is not satisfied with seeing, nor the ear filled with hearing.” Ecclesiastes 1:8
 
So money, legacies, fame, everything, everything is meaningless under the sun.
 
Life is for that One who breathed air into our lungs. That is the true purpose of life under the sun, to glorify Him because what is seen is temporary, but what is unseen is eternal (2 Corinthians 4:18).
 
It is so wonderful to know that it was no coincidental. My God is alive. He listens. I am forever grateful. ❤
 
[ Read more : Ecclesiastes 1:1-12; 2:1-26; 9:1-18 ]
Leave a Reply

