The art of being thankful

It has been a while since I posted something on my blog. I am still adjusting to my new schedule with my daughter, assignments, classes, social life and blogging. So please bear with me 🙂

So, how are you guys doing?

Did you guys have a nice Thanksgiving?

I sure did. We had a traditional Thanksgiving meal with turkey, mashed potatoes and gravy, sweet potatoes and marshmallow, green beans casserole (my favorite) and I also made an Indonesian dish called Mie Goreng or Indonesian fried noodles. Everything was so good. I love Thanksgiving dinner lol.

Being away from my family is not easy, especially during holidays. I am thankful that I have my mother and father (in-laws) to spend time with. I am grateful for them.

Since the passing of my husband about 8 months ago, this was our 1st Thanksgiving and also Christmas coming up without him. I know it will not be easy as people say they often get ambushed during the holiday season. As much as I want to keep complaining about how unfair it is to have to go through this mess, I am thankful for all the pain, heartbreaks, tear and trials. Every single one of them has helped me to grow mentally and spiritually. After all, life is about learning and growing, right? I am thankful to be alive. I know God has a purpose for me in this world. He has a reason why all these things happened. Even though I do not see it now, but I will see it later.

I think I have mentioned it before, probably many times that I have learned a lot these past years. One thing I am still learning is how to be thankful in the midst of trials. When it seems like there is nothing to be thankful for, that’s when we truly need to dig deep and realize all the blessings God has given us. It might not be a big thing like a million dollar cash or something like that. It might be something simple, but yet worth so much more than materials, than what money can buy. As for me, I am so grateful that my daughter and I are healthy. Nothing is worth if you are not healthy. So, I am thankful for that.

I have so many things to be thankful for. I am sure we all do. We just have to keep reminding ourselves about them.

I hope that you all will have a nice evening. Don’t forget to live your life, every moment of it.

Salam,

Merysta ❤

2 thoughts on “The art of being thankful

Leave a Reply

